The Design

Open Call for all Architects


The Freedom Memorial Museum Design Competition is a two-stage competition open to all licensed Filipino architects.

The design search hoped to engage the Filipino community in building a memorial that shall honor the lives and sacrifices of the human rights violations victims during the Marcos Martial Law period.

The memorial will be an iconic structure that will inspire present and future generations as well as serve as the Philippines’ contribution to the international human rights movement.

The design competition opened its registration to the public last April 5, 2019 and ended on May 15, 2019.

The Jury


The design competition secretariat assembled this 13-man jury representing different disciplines and sectors to deliberate and evaluate for the Stage I of the Freedom Memorial Museum design competition. Get to know them more by clicking on their profiles*.

* Below are the 2019 profiles of the jurors



The Freedom Memorial Museum Design Competition held its press conference at Max’s sct. Tuazon, Quezon City on April 4, 2019.

Carmelo Crisanto, Executive Director of HRVVMC was joined by Dr. Aurora Parong and Ms. Ester Isberto, both Marcos Martial Law survivors, in the panel discussion to discuss what the commission is and the purpose of the Freedom Memorial Museum Design Competition.

Stage I Round 1:

106 Submitted Entries

A total of 106 entries were submitted to the commission for the design competition. Entries came from different parts of the country – NCR, Bulacan, Cavite, Rizal, Laguna, Benguet, Pangasinan, Pampanga, Albay Zamboanga, Davao, Cebu, Camarines Sur and Negros Occidental. filipino architects based in singapore also sent in their entries!

All entries were presented anonymously to the jurors and was only identifiable by the QR codes attached at the back of their presentation boards given to the teams when they registered. For the first round of Stage I, 92 entries were deemed eligible by the jury as per evaluation of the competition guidelines. The deliberation was held at Eastwood Richmonde Hotel last May 20, 2019. The entries were digitized by the design competition secretariat and were presented on two tv screens. the jury were able to decide on the semi-finalists through negative voting.

Stage I Round 2:

27 Semi-finalists

On June 6, 2019 at the U.P. Fine Arts Gallery Building, the Stage I round 2 of the design competition took place. the jury decided the top 5 entries that will move on to the next stage of the competition.

All presentation boards of the 27 semi-finalists were displayed for the jurors to review and inspect. they were also given an opportunity to ask questions and clarifications regarding their design proposal to the semi-finalists via skype. The Design Competition Secretariat arranged a hub at the United Architects of the Philippines (UAP) Headquarters where the semi-finalists can rest and wait if ever their team will be called by the jurors via Skype. The semi-finalists who did not go to the UAP hub will be called instead via Skype thru their anonymous Skype accounts that they created specifically for the design competition to maintain anonymity.

Stage II:​

The 5 Grand Finalists

On 31 July 2019, the Board of Judges composed of the Board of Trustees of HRVVMC, convened at the National Museum of Fine Arts, Auditorium Hall, for the Stage II of the Freedom Memorial Museum Design Competition.

Chairperson Jose Luis Gascon of CHR and Co-Chairperson Rene Escalante of NHCP were both in attendance together with the Board of Trustees Members Atty. Marco Cicero Domingo of CheD, Mr. Lawrence Salazar of NCCA and Atty. Josephine Maribojoc of DepEd. Mr. Chito Angeles of the U.P. Main Library was not able to attend the final presentation of the grand finalists. They were assisted by the Technical Working Group including Dir. Jeremy Barns of the National Museum, Dr. Lessandro Garciano and Engr. Salvador Olaivar both from the De La Salle University and Ar. Reyanaldo Lita of NHCP.

The deliberation proper started at 9:00 am through the drawing of lots by each team representative, followed by an orientation by the Executive Director Mr. Carmelo Victor Crisanto. The order of the presentation was as follows:

Donnie Ray Alfaro
Gian Paolo Priela
Joel Anthony Ong
Mark Anthony Pait
Joselito Gutierrez

The grand finalists were given thirty (30) minutes each for the presentation excluding the question and answer segment. All presentations were recorded for documentation. After all the grand finalists presented, the Board of Judges, with the assistance of the Technical Working Group, carefully deliberated on the five (5) design proposals.

People Choice Award​

For one month, starting 26 June 2019 to 26 July 2019, the public was also given an opportunity to vote for the design proposal among the five (5) grand finalists that they wanted to win through the People’s Choice voting platform that the Memorial Commission implemented. It was launched at Iloilo City during the 14th Hidlawanay Reunion and at CHR Region VI. The duplicate presentation boards A total of 10,930 votes were cast. Finalist 2 had the most number of votes – reaching 3, 828.

The Winning Design

The Freedom Memorial Night was held at the National Museum of Fine Arts, Auditorium Hall. It was an evening of celebration and recognition for all the competitors who joined The Freedom Memorial Museum Design Competition. The presentation boards of the twenty-two (22) semi-finalists were displayed in the hallway leading to the Auditorium Hall. Certificates of Recognition were awarded by L Ar. Jose Bimbao and Ms. Ester Isberto to the semi-finalists in attendance. The People’s Choice trophy was awarded by Mr. Felix Hidalgo, a human rights violations victim survivor to Grand Finalist 2, who garnered 3,828 votes and was led by Ar. Joselito Gutierrez.

The audio-visual presentations that the grand finalists showed during the Stage II presentation were shown to the attendees. Chairperson Jose Luis Martin Gascon and Co-Chairperson Rene Escalante awarded the plaques to the grand finalists and announced the grand winner – Grand Finalist 4. Ar. Mark Anthony Pait, Ar. Mark Angelo Bonita and Ar. Wendell Crispo were the architects behind the winning design. Their scale model and presentation boards were displayed at the lobby of the National Museum of Fine Arts for the attendees to see and appreciate.

On October 9, 2019, Chairperson Gascon awarded the check to Ar. Mark Anthony Pait and Ar. Mark Angelo Bonita at the Commission on Human Rights Board Room.

Join Survivors'
Discussion Group

Enter your name and email address